Delicious Healthy No-Bake Granola Bars

This recipe is a staple in our home.  In fact, I’m making a batch when I’m done with this post to take in to the food bank for my shift today.  I work with some of the best people in my section I’ve ever met. Period. Compassionate doesn’t begin to describe these volunteers and I’m their biggest fan! I love bringing in treats for them (hard to find the time most shifts, but when I have the time, I’m on it!).

This recipe is simple, almost too simple, as most think this simple can’t be good.  Trust me! It’s delish!!  I have a friend who finally tried the recipe and her teens prefer her homemade over the store bought all day, any day.  My son has peanut / nut allergies so baking has become a staple in our home.  Although there are plenty of peanut/nut free items on grocery shelves now (thank you manufacturers!!) but I still have ‘health’ issue with soy products, refined sugars and unnecessary junk that keeps it on a shelf for way too long. No-Bake Chocolate Chip Granola Bars Healthier and cheaper than the store bought kind!!

INGREDIENTS:

1/3 cup butter
1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 cups quick cooking oats {not rolled oats!}
1 1/4 cup crispy rice cereal
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons mini chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS: In a large bowl, stir oats and rice cereal together. Set aside. In a small pot, melt butter, honey and brown sugar together over medium high heat until it comes to a bubble. Reduce the heat and cook 2 minutes. Pour in vanilla and stir. Pour over dry ingredients and mix well to moisten all ingredients.

Pour into lightly greased small jelly roll pan {about 12x8x1} and press out to be about 3/4 inch in thickness. {If your pan isn’t small enough, pack the mixture into one side. You really want to press them down so they stick together.}

Sprinkle with mini chocolate chips and press down lightly. Cool on a countertop to room temperature for two hours or until the chocolate chips are set before cutting into bars.

Wrap in parchment or plastic wrap and store at room temperature. The good thing about this recipe is you can add to it as you wish.  Raisins, dried cranberries, other dried fruits and nuts of your choice.  You could add sliced or chopped almonds, maybe some almond extract and invite me over!! Pecan, orange peel grated with dried cranberries. Yum! Mix it up, make your favourite.

2 thoughts on “Delicious Healthy No-Bake Granola Bars

Leave a Reply

