New iBooks On My Horizon

Often I get so busy and forget to do what I like to do. I think it’s important to always include activities that are part of who we are to help keep us balanced and maintain some inner peace.

I love to read. I didn’t like it for years. I think my root of my dislike for reading stemmed from high school.  The books we were forced to read didn’t interest me one bit and the whole process of forcing me to read left a bitter taste in my mouth.  Then I was a single a mom, raising my daughter and working 2 jobs, night school and just trying to exist. I didn’t have the mental capacity to read my mail never mind a book. I essentially gave up reading.

As my children have grown and in recent years not being a single mom anymore, reading has crept back in slowly. The real issue lies in the problem on page 7. By the time I get to page 7 I typically will decide at that point if I will continue to read. Once I get reading a book life goes on around me and I’m not involved. Bookkeeping falls behind, chores fall behind, the dogs miss their long walks and home baked goods cease to exist.

I’m excited!! I just downloaded 2 books into iBooks. Political books and for someone who claims to not be political or hates politics, I realize that maybe that’s a bit of a fib. Once I dig in, hopefully this evening I will find some time to start the journey I likely will let everything else fall off the map except bookkeeping. It’s T4 season. Priority.

Book #1
Ezra Levants ‘Shakedown’
Here’s a review:
Canadians have chosen Ezra Levant’s Shakedown in an online poll as the best political book of the past 25 years.

The online contest was put on by the Writers’ Trust of Canada and Samara, which promotes democracy and participation in public life, to let voters nominate and choose their favourite recent politics books.

Online voters chose Levant’s book Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights, which was published in 2009. Shakedown looks at how government-appointed human rights bodies have strayed from the noble purpose for which they were created.

Thousands of Canadian readers voted online from the final list of 12 books.

The Best Canadian Political Books of the Last 25 Years is a project meant to get Canadians to reflect on Canada’s political history and the ideas and personalities that have driven meaningful debates over the last two decades.

Book #2
Ezra Levants ‘Ethical Oil’
Here’s a review:
Canada’s “no. 1 defender of freedom of speech” and the bestselling author of Shakedown makes the timely and provocative case that when it comes to oil, ethics matter just as much as the economy and the environment.

In 2009, Ezra Levant’s bestselling book Shakedown revealed the corruption of Canada’s human rights commissions and was declared the “most important public affairs book of the year.” In Ethical Oil, Levant turns his attention to another hot-button topic: the ethical cost of our addiction to oil. While many North Americans may be aware of the financial and environmental price we pay for a gallon of gas or a barrel of oil, Levant argues that it is time we consider ethical factors as well. With his trademark candor, Levant asks hard-hitting questions: With the oil sands at our disposal, is it ethically responsible to import our oil from the Sudan, Russia, and Mexico? How should we weigh carbon emissions with human rights violations in Saudi Arabia? And assuming that we can’t live without oil, can the development of energy be made more environmentally sustainable? In Ethical Oil, Levant exposes the hypocrisy of the West’s dealings with the reprehensible regimes from which we purchase the oil that sustains our lifestyles, and offers solutions to this dilemma. Readers at all points on the political spectrum will want to read this timely and provocative new book, which is sure to spark debate.

I’m expecting to emerge a disgruntled Canadian.

Leave a Reply

