Natural Tooth Cleaner

Yup, that’s right, my teeth cleaner has been hippie-fied. I have been onto chemicals in our oral hygiene products for some time and have always wanted to make changes; Not to mention the torture of animals to test all those chemicals. Over the last few years I’ve made some big changes, although I can’t tell you I ‘feel’ a difference with my toxic load internally, but for me, just knowing I am less toxic makes me feel less controlled by the possibility of cancer and other diseases. I really do wish I had done most of these changes decades ago, but as Shrek always says to donkey, better late than never Donkey!!

Toothpaste is absolute toxic shit. It’s so loaded with toxic ingredients it’s alarming to me and very hard for me to respect dentists that promote such toxic crap!! The foamy action is a big chemical bubble bath happening in your mouth, but we, the consumers, have been conditioned, like with shampoos foaming  bubbles, that the more a product foams/bubbles the cleaner we are. WRONG!!

Let’s have a look at SOME of the ingredients listed in commercial brand toothpastes.

Triclosan is often in your toothpaste, which helps kill plaque-forming microbes. Triclosan is a bio-persistent chemical which turns up in fish, breast milk and wastewater.
Sodium Saccharine is around 300 times sweeter than sugar and is a known carcinogen. Yet this beauty is in our toothpaste. It’s added, along with a variety of other flavourings in order to mask the unpleasant taste of some of the other ingredients such as the detergents and phosphates.
Sodium Laureth Sulphate (aka Sodium Lauryl Ether Sulfate, or SLS) which is used to create foam. It’s a major ingredient in soaps, shampoos and toothpaste and does play some role in cleaning your teeth. But it isn’t essential and in some studies it has been shown that it can make human tissue (skin, scalp, mouth surfaces) more easily penetrated by other chemicals.
Polyethylenes such as polyethylene glycol (PEG) and other polymers are also found in many toothpastes. They are used to bind and stabilize. Health concerns include cancer, allergies/immunotoxicity and organ system toxicity.

Then we have the controversial fluoride ingredient. We avoid fluoride, even opt out of the treatment at the dentist. There’s enough in your drinking water that the last thing you need is more bio-accumulating in your tissues. Most people have their own opinion on fluoride, so I’ll leave it at that.

There are the ‘all natural’ toothpastes which are most definitely a better option than the big brands like Colgate and Crest but even those often have some form of a sugar supplement such as xylitol, which baffles me. Brush your teeth but here have some sugar to make it taste better? Suck it up and for 2 minutes with each brush.  Do you need to be pampered and have the best tasting product out there? Just get the job done and get on with your day! Natural toothpastes are typically overly expensive just because they put ‘natural’ in their name, save some bucks and make your own natural toothpaste.

I make my own teeth-cleaner for just over a year now. I like to use a similar name to the commercial industry but not the exact same like toothpaste becaue I’m looking to desperate myself from the consumerism and with that goes the terminology as well.  Much like my natural hair cleaner.  I don’t like to say it’s a shampoo.  I use my tooth cleaner in my mouth the same as a commercial brand, I brush my tongue and cheeks and teeth with it.  I also haven’t used mouth wash since I started using this and I don’t have dry mouth anymore. I suffered from dry mouth for a while and I can tell you plaque is real happy in a dry mouth and it’s hard sometmes to not sound like an intoxicated person when your lips stick to your dry teeth when you talk lol!! So…how and what do I do instead?

Here it is..
Baking soda
Water and/or Apple Cider Vinegar
Tea tree oil
Peppermint or Spearmint Essential Oils

Once a week I have just started brushing with organic Coconut Oil. It has antiseptic properties and helps to rebuild enamel strength. It’s disgusting so I’m not sure how long it will be continued.  I’ll report back in a few months.

That’s it, that’s all. Let’s discuss my ingredients.

Baking soda – is alkaline and considered a safe ingredient for brushing teeth. Although some warm that prolonged use of baking soda can break down tooth enamel and make teeth sensitive, I would recommend not to brush as hard as with commercial products.

Water – Water is water.

Organic unpasteurized Apple Cider Vinegar – is good but I don’t use all the time. It’s very acidic and I could see a problem with enamel after prolonged use. It is amazing at removing stains from tea or coffee and has many health benefits. One week a month I use a formulation with Apple Cider Vinegar. Organic and unpasteurized is best as apples are on the dirty dozen list for their toxic load.

Tea Tree Oil – This essential oil is invaluable to me. It’s germ buster, it helps to heal cold sores and kills the germs that cause bad breath. It is a super efficient antiseptic that kills bacteria fast. This is especially important for gum disease sufferers since we know that it’s caused by plaque, which is a bacteria. What’s most important, though, is that tea tree oil kills bacteria even more effectively in living tissue than in the test tube, which is unlike most other synthetic antiseptics out there. (You’re alive. The tissue in your mouth is alive. So why not use a treatment that works most effectively on living tissue?)

Peppermint/Spearmint Oil – are both antiseptic oils which help to treat pain. They are great in a mouthwash or toothpaste, which is why they are such prevalent flavors in oral hygiene products. Peppermint and spearmint oils are also very effective in combating bad breath.

This version of a ‘natural toothpaste’ I am really comfortable calling natural. You can control how much oils you want to put in, treat/prevent your oral health with your own personal preference and keep your wallet closed. It’s sooooo cheap in comparison to any product on the market. I store it in a class container – small glass Tupperware type- and don’t laugh, I use an espresso spoon to scoop it onto my toothbrush. I’m not one for double dipping.

How does it hold up you wonder. I hate the dentist. HATE HATE HATE. I take extraordinary care of my teeth so I have zero reasons to go to the dentist. Every so often I suck it up and sit in those stupid chairs because I drag Flyp in for his teeth cleaning, or I need a root canal. Gawd I hate the dentist. It’s uncomfortably close to anyone, never mind some masked man who isn’t someone I’d even want to talk to on the street. It’s just a really awkward, intimate closeness, uncomfortable, pushing my boundaries relationship we need to have with any dentist. One I will do anything to avoid!!

Three years ago I had to listen to my dentist give me a good review but still complain about build up in a few spots, even though it had been about 10 years since I had been to the dentist.  With the minimal work he needed to do, gushing blood free I’d like to mention, I told him to suck it up and hurry up.

Earlier this week I sat in the chair again, only way to get Flyp to go. ‘Fair is Fair Mom’. It has been 3 years since I walked the hall of doom and sat in that creepy Star Trek chair for a cleaning. The descend into the vulnerable position is the shortest creepiest trip I’ve even taken in my life. Mr. Dentist took out his inspector gadget tools and had a look around and touched a few teeth, of course with the dental hygienist armed with her vacuum ready to attack as both of them hovered over me!! (I wish I could find a car vacuum with that power, I’d have the cleanest car ever) Mr. Dentist asked if I wanted a fluoride treatment or a polish and I just looked uncomfortably close into his eyes with a look of really? We want to have this conversation AGAIN?He clicked the button on the chair and proceeded to sit the chair back up. Is that the slowest ride back to freedom or what? I’m up and out of that creepy chair with my bib removed before its half way back to its sitting position.

As I walked back down the hall to my freedom I hear from behind me ‘job well done’.
I responded with a cocky ‘I know’ because I’m good that way!

While the receptionist was doing up our financial burden she asked me how I got such amazing review after not being in there for 3 years. First, I don’t think it should be an issue if you take proper care of your mouth, but I also understand as we age we make less saliva and more plaque/tarter takes place. I also now believe that is in part because of the chemicals we use in our mouths decades upon decades. I explained my madness to her and she asked me to email her my secret. Ha!!

Summary: There was nothing for the dentist to do. Not a scrape, not a single pick, nothing. He charged me $15 to sit in his chair. Jerk.
I challenged him and said ‘next time there is nothing to do, I charge you $15’.
‘Deal’ he said as he disappeared down the hall for his next victim.

To make – just add ingredients, mix and you can make it thicker, less thick, whatever you want. I make It more on the runny side as I prefer less abrasion but still want the job to get done.  There really isn’t any one way to make it. It’s a personal preference on thickness and flavour. Sometimes I add ground organic cinnamon but very little as it can easy burn your mouth, like cinnamon gum. Ewww gum! Cinnamon has its benefits but tastes so nasty with tea tree oil and I personally always make tea tree oil part of my tooth cleaner. Orange/citrus essential oils have a tendency to dye … I personally avoid.

Leave a Reply

