Roar!!

I wake at 6 to my alarm clock blaring ‘Roar’ by Katy Perry.

🎵 I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Louder, louder than a lion
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’re gonna hear me roar 🎵

That’s how I choose to start my day; Roar!!! Haha! And some people innocently wonder why I’m crazy.

I don’t crawl out of bed until 6:30. As I put on my shoes and still wiping sleep from my eyes, I walk drunkenly to the coop and manage to open the door and say ‘good morning sexy ladies’ and walk back to the house hoping (not praying) the caffeine in my tea doesn’t let me down this morning.

I give my dogs a hug and send them on their way for their morning pee. I put the kettle on and watch the dogs do their business and I make sure they climb back up the deck to the back door and they lay down to watch and listen.

I test my blood sugar. Moan and groan and remind myself to call a clinic Monday. I mentally schedule a long walk after dinner at the lake. Blood sugar yesterday 6.9 (124), blood sugar today 6.3 (114).

The kettle whistle blows (extremely annoying first thing in the morning, but after almost burning the house down with a whistle-less kettle, whistles are now mandatory) and I pour my boiling water over my tea bag. I grab my cup, add some honey and sit in front of my iPad at the kitchen table, looking out over a portion of the backyard. I do a head count on free ranging chickens. Yup all is good.

In my head I’m already scheduling out my day in sync with my first sip of tea. Today I must cut the grass, weed the veggie garden (have to stay on top of it or it gets out of control fast!) and weed a small garden at bottom of deck. I found some good quality herbs (finally) so I need to also get those planted today Along with a few flowers that are left over and need to get planted as well.

I’ll toss the litter in the coop, add some more flax bedding, refresh water supply, feed them all, check all the babies and make sure everyone is doing fine.  I’ll let the babies out to free range today when it gets just a little bit warmer.  I’ll mix up some vegetable and fruit in suet boxes and hang in the outdoor pen for chickens to peck at today. I’ll defrost some organic peas for their afternoon treat with organic oats. They love both!! But nothing comes close to the obsession with meal worms.

I need to work on the storage shed – the one I’m turning into a duck coop. I decided chickens and ducks together is a bacterial disaster waiting to happen. Chickens need low humidity and ducks are wet and messy. Coop Clash. I have to put up wire in the storage shed to make sure it is sealed and secure and start on nesting boxes. Doubt I’ll get this far in my day, but whatever is left over on the to-do list will be carried to next weekend.

I decide on ribs, grilled veggies and salad for dinner. I hit the freezer for the ribs and pull the dogs dinner out; full bodied chicken carcass and a block of organ meats for their dinner. (Disgusting I know!!)

I’m listening to Miss Molly call her flock again, she’s only been lost half a dozen times in the last 20 minutes.

The hummingbirds just came to the window. I believe that is code for fill up my feeders!!! I have 4 feeders this year and 6 hummingbirds. They’re pretty territorial and I’ve seen some good swoops in their battles for the full feeders. Oh there gores Miss Molly again. Lost.

I texted Flyp, and told him to be good today and work hard. I’m pretty sure he rolled his eyes as he read it, but the day I don’t text he’ll wonder what’s wrong. Today he’s a brick layer!! (Well a helper) I’m sure he’s super happy!! He loves working with his hands and masonry work is right up his alley. Masonry is one term of his co-op. Framing is his second term.

I remind myself that I’m out for dinner with friends tomorrow and have to get my new outfit washed and hung to dry! Oh Ya, I need to put out the clothes dryer outside today too. Ugh!! The list is growing and growing.

I’m not hungry, but I know my blood sugar won’t be happy if I don’t eat. I’ll grab a banana on my way outdoors and the ‘meal’ can wait till I’m good and hungry. A few hours outside and a BLT will be a welcome brunch!!!

I run downstairs after my tea is done and have a peek in at my work desk. My shoulders slump and I sigh. I put a load of laundry on, while wondering if the papers will ever end. I’m a wee bit thankful that the week is full of rain so I’ll be stuck in the house and can get caught up on work.

I head back upstairs to dust and vacuum the main floor and tidy the bathroom with a quick wipe of faucets, sink and counter. Check the toilet to see if any elephant trunks went wild this morning … Give the toilet rim a quick wipe and tell myself one day I’ll put an electric toilet rim rebound of sorts and if they miss they’ll get a slap in the nuts. Not sure how it would all work, but maybe I should figure it out and patent it. I’ll be rich!!  Look out Dragon Den, here I come!

A quick dusting will have to do today, I have a lot to do outdoors. I’ll make a hot bucket of water with vinegar and tea tree oil and wash the floors at the end of the day, when I’m done with my in and out all day.

I’m heading outside to start my busy day. It’s sunny, but a cool breezy day. This is good, it helps to keeps the mosquitos down and keeps me cool while working. A good dose of clove oil all over me and I’ll be bug free despite our massive load of mosquitos and biting bugs!!

I wish everyone a happy Saturday and I hope you spend it your way!

Did I mention the ducklings are coming??? Of course I did. Can’t wait to blog about this addition to my flock.

Since I am late posting this I thought I would post some pictures of my helpers during the day.

image

Always help right at your feet!! Any bugs are taken care of!! Such sweet girls!!

P.S. –> we have a large load of mosquitos here – we are a registered marshland. Our summers have been ruined previous years by biting bugs and no matter what toxic or natural products I put on, we’d all be covered in bites. I found this site and decided to just try clove since it has 100% repellency when used in straight form. Our location can honestly be a test site for repellency – it’s unbearable. Clove has changed my life in the summer. I can go outside in a t-shirt with clove on and I am not eaten alive and not even really bothered with any around me. I just shake into my palm and apply full strength. It can burn a little bit on the neck, but I’ll take that for a few minutes verses mosquito bites all over!! I can actually work outside and not be double layered in the sweltering heat and humidity of the summer and sweating my gonads off (the ones I don’t have). I also rub on my dogs to help them repel mosquitoes and ticks. Especially Cinder who is sold black! They swarm her.
Anyways .. If you’re interested..
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16041723

Leave a Reply

