Homemade Organic Mint Green Tea Lemonade

Well, it’s been a while since I have posted. I’m so busy it’s really hard to find the spare time.  I have plenty blogs started with good intentions but time really isn’t on my side to get them finished and posted.

As I write this In my screened in room, I can hear the chickens clucking with pleasure as they nibble on their watermelon and the ducklings are splashing like teenagers in the kiddie pool.  The ducklings aren’t even 3 weeks old yet and they’ve been free ranging for a few days already.  You can’t keep them in the pen and feel good about it that’s for sure!! They find mud puddles, get filthy and hit the pool and swim and play.  I’m not sure you can ever have too many ducklings.  Anyways, on to my post topic.  The teas of summer…

I love fresh brewed iced teas. Passion and green teas chilled are my favourite. To makes our own really is a money saver and definitely a healthier option than most premade versions you’ll buy in the stores.  Often one of the first ingredients is fructose glucose.  By making your own, you can control the sugar, no fructose glucose, no colours, no *natural flavours added, and you can tweak it for your personal preference.

Summer is a great time to take advantage of the herbs in your garden and your infuser. If you don’t have an infuser I’m sure floating the ingredients will result in the same great taste. Infusers are great for keeping the solids out of your drink once you pour into a chilled ice filled glass, although some people don’t mind the chunks.  I don’t like mint. Typically. I love it in this tea though.

Recipe:

3 jars approx 1L each (mine are 946 ml. Glass jars. Close enough eh?!)
3 tea bags of organic green tea
1/2 cup of raw organic cane sugar
1 organic lemon cut into cubes (see pictures)
Mint leaves cut up (it’s a personal

imagePut water on to boil in kettle. Split the 1/2 cup of cane sugar between all 3 jugs.
When water has boiled, add to top of each jug. Once filled, add tea bags and set aside to brew.

image

Cut up lemon and mint.

image  image

Put lemon and mint into infuser.

image

Let the tea brew and cool for approx. an hour. After an hour it will still be warm, likely, which is how I prefer it. When the warm tea is added to the jug with the infuser I find the flavours are steeped more into the tea for a more robust taste.

Chill and enjoy.

image

*natural flavours added to foods, are really just a synthetic group of ingredients added to the food to enhance flavours.  The FDA has allowed these synthetics (chemicals) to be grouped under this one bullshit manipulative title … Really, true natural flavours aren’t an ingredient list.  That’s all I’m saying before I head off on a rant!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Organic Mint Green Tea Lemonade

Leave a Reply

