Simply The Best BBQ Zucchini

There are some foods that I just never seem to get tired of. I eat them often and never bore of them. Sweet potato, zucchini, squash and popcorn.

Today is all about zucchini on the bbq. I eat this zucchini, in this exact format at least 3 times a week. Here goes!

This time of year it’s easy to find fat zucchini … I prefer organic but of course either works. In a month or so, I will have zucchini from the garden and oooooooo boy I will be eating grilled zucchini almost every day. I can’t wait!!!  I often get comments like, wow, that’s a lot of zucchini, do you give it to friends and family?.  No to family, they don’t live close by, and no to friends just because I eat it all.  I also bake with it, zucchini carrot muffins, zuchini raisin bread.  Yum!! What a wonderful gift from our soils.  Zucchini.

Side note: I know a lot of people like the yellow zucchini for colour variety in their meals. Know it is a GMO product. To my knowledge all yellow zucchini, known as yellow summer squash has been GMO’d as it is not naturally produced in nature.
http://www.gmo-compass.org/eng/database/plants/74.zucchini.html

Recipe

2 large zucchini ( or however many you’d like)
1/3 cup of EV Olive oil
Spices and herbs. This is usually a personal preference.
In my olive oil blend I used dried herbs of oregano, rosemary and basil, garlic, salt and pepper and a bit of Montreal steak spice.

Combine your olive oil herbs/spices.

image

Cut zucchini into thick-ish strips.

image

Lay flat on a plate or cutting board. Brush your olive oil mixture liberally onto both sides of your zucchini. Let sit while the bbq heat up.

image

Cook on med/high and grill marks are nicely imprinted and zucchini has a well done texture.

image

Enjoy! I have a hard time sharing these hahah! Thankfully the teenager doesn’t like zucchini and it’s just Einstein I have to tackle for the last one.

image

I do a lot of veggies this way; eggplant, peppers, portobello mushrooms. These veggies can be diced up once grilled and added to your homemade pizza … Now that’s some good stuff!! Or thrown in a bun with a sausage … Diverse recipe waiting for your twist!

Leave a Reply

